Promotion of science

Promotion of science

We continuously engage in new ideas beyond our own development work. Among other things, we support ground-breaking methodological and analytical methods which generate new findings in life sciences and medicine. For us, this support is based on a long tradition, the foundations of which were laid as early as 1986 when the SARSTEDT Research Prize was awarded for the first time. In the years that followed, this prize for DM 50,000 was awarded six times to international scientists.

Since 2008, we have been sole supporter of the renowned Research Prize for Biochemical Analysis awarded by the German Society for Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Klinische Chemie und Laboratoriumsmedizin, DGKL) with a contribution of EUR 50,000. The prize has been awarded for the past 40 years for outstanding scientific achievements in the field of biochemical and molecular analysis.  

Winners of the Research Prize for Biochemical Analysis 2008–2022


Prof. Dr. Kai Simons and Dr. Andrej Shevchenko are awarded for their jointly developed and globally unique quantitative shotgun lipidomics platform. 

Prof. Dr. Andreas Greinacher is honoured for his ground-breaking work on the elucidation of vaccine-induced immunogenic thrombotic thrombocytopenia (VITT). Learn more


Prof. Dr. Y. M. Dennis Lo, China, awarded for his achievements in the field of molecular genetics and genetic laboratory diagnostics. Learn more


Prof. Dr. E. Charpentier, Germany, awarded for his achievements in the field of molecular genetics. Learn more


Prof. Dr. B. Dahlbäck, Sweden, awarded for his achievements in blood coagulation research. Learn more


Prof. Dr. F.U. Hartl, Germany, awarded for his work on the topic of ‘the significance of protein folding with the aid of chaperones in connection with neuro-degenerative diseases’. Learn more


Dr. J. Rothberg, USA, awarded for the development of a completely new method of a high-throughput procedure for representing the DNA code known as “Next Generation Sequencing” and

Prof. Dr. S. Pääbo, Germany, awarded for his significant contributions to molecular archaeology and to human evolutionary genetics. Learn more


Prof. Dr. W. Baumeister, Germany, awarded for the development and application of cryo-electrometric proteomic analysis. Learn more


Winners of the SARSTEDT Research Prize 1986–2000


Prof. Dr. R. Valenta, Austria, awarded for fundamental work in identifying the genetic structure of allergenic substances, used to improve detection methods of different allergies and the production of vaccines. Learn more


Prof. Dr. B. Vogelstein, USA, and Prof. Dr. D. Sidransky, USA, awarded for fundamental work in identifying the components of the genetic materials that cause colon cancer and other types of cancer. Learn more


Prof. Dr. F. Collins, USA, Prof. Dr. J. Riordan, Canada, and Prof. Dr. L.C. Tsui, Canada, awarded for fundamental work through which the components of genetic material which cause cystic fibrosis were discovered. Learn more


Prof. Dr. M. Wilchek, Israel, and Dr. E. A. Bayer, Israel, awarded for fundamental work, which enabled numerous detection methods of metabolic products which are required for medical diagnosis. This was achieved using the naturally occurring biochemical binding principles between the materials avidin and biotin. Learn more


Prof. Dr. T. Staehelin, Switzerland, Dr. H. Towbin, Switzerland, and Dr. J. Gordon, USA, awarded for fundamental work in developing the Western blot. Learn more


Prof. Dr. J. Klose, Germany, and Prof. Dr. P. H. O'Farrell, USA, awarded for fundamental work in developing high-resolution two-dimensional electrophoresis which enables early diagnosis of protein and genetic defects. Learn more