Research & Development

Research & Development


                                                      Strength from tradition –

                                                          passion for the future



Power for progress

Since its foundation in 1961, Sarstedt has placed great value on research and development. In order to detect future trends and determine the needs of the customers, we are in continuous dialogue with the users in medicine and science. In our own development centre, we actively advance innovations from the initial idea through to the finished product.

Progress through innovation

There are many examples of Sarstedt's forward-looking product solutions. The development of the S-Monovette® caused a revolution in blood collection. The innovative system combines two techniques in one product. As required, the user can select either the aspiration or the vacuum technique – flexible, safe and patient friendly. The safe handling of the smallest sample volumes in the laboratory has also been greatly improved following the invention of the screw capped Micro Tubes.

Funding of science

We also engage in new ideas beyond our own R&D work. We are currently providing EUR 50,000 for the fourth time of awarding the renowned Research Prize for Biochemical Analysis awarded by the German Society for Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Klinische Chemie und Laboratoriumsmedizin, DGKL). The prize honours pioneering methodical and analytical processes which generate new knowledge in life sciences and medicine. This support is based on a long tradition at Sarstedt, the foundations of which were laid in 1986 when the Sarstedt research prize was awarded for the first time. In the years that followed, this prize, which was endowed with DM 50,000, was awarded to international scientists six times.