DGKL 2017
(Rainer Schuster, Prof. Dr. E. Charpentier, Prof. Dr. med. B. Isermann)

The Deutsche Gesellschaft für Klinische Chemie und Laboratoriumsmedizin e.V. (DGKL – German Society for Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine) has awarded this year’s Prize for Biochemical Analysis to Professor Emmanuelle Charpentier, Director of the Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology in Berlin. The award, worth 50,000 euros to the winner, is sponsored by Sarstedt AG & Co. KG and is among the more prestigious honours awarded by a medical society in Germany. The winner’s certificate was presented to Professor Charpentier at the DGKL’s annual convention, held in the historic state parliament building in Oldenburg on Wednesday, 11 October. The presentation was made by DGKL President Berend Isermann, with Sarstedt board member Rainer Schuster also in attendance.

(Rainer Schuster)

Mr Schuster talked about Sarstedt’s commitment to sponsorship in the field of science, explaining that it is essential for the scientific and business communities to work together in order to achieve progress in medicine.

In Professor Charpentier, this year’s Prize for Biochemical Analysis goes to an internationally renowned researcher who has been recognised on multiple occasions for her achievements in the field of molecular genetics.

(Prof. Dr. E. Charpentier)

Professor Charpentier conducts research into the immune system of bacteria and has achieved groundbreaking results in the area of genetic engineering. She examines how bacterial infections progress and how bacteria protect against the ingress of foreign DNA. Based on this research work, she has developed a ‘gene clipper’ that can be used to precisely control and modify genes in a specific targeted manner for therapeutic purposes. These discoveries could, in future, help patients with genetically determined diseases in developing new medications and treatments.

The Prize for Biochemical Analysis has been awarded for over 40 years for methodological advances in the field of biochemical and molecular analysis. The list of award-winners includes numerous internationally renowned scientists. Five of the previous winners of the Prize for Biochemical Analysis have also gone on to win a Nobel Prize for their research work.